I don't teach, I share.

世上最絕的分手信

再和大家分享好文章。今次的是小說《Sense and Sensibility》中賤男 Willoughby 給女主角那封冷血的分手信。

話說賤男跟女主角在家鄉相戀,有天男的要到倫敦工幹,短期內不會回來;女的唯有承諾等他,更剪下一束頭髮,給他留念。後來她千里迢迢跑到倫敦,想和他重聚,找了良久,最後在舞會中碰上了,但男的竟然對她毫不理會,只顧和身邊的女伴談笑。女的傷痛欲絕,寫信跟他攤牌。信中第一句就說:

What am I to imagine, Willoughby, by your behaviour last night? I demand an explanation of it.

 

末段更表示「如果你不愛我了,請交還我給你的那束頭髮」:

If your sentiments are no longer what they were, you will return my notes, and the lock of my hair which is in your possession.

幾天後,苦命的女主角收到這樣的回信:

My Dear Madam,

I have just had the honour of receiving your letter, for which I beg to return my sincere acknowledgements. I am much concerned to find there was anything in my behaviour last night that did not meet your approbation; and though I am quite at a loss to discover in what point I could be so unfortunate as to offend you, I entreat your forgiveness […]. My esteem for your whole family is very sincere; but if I have been so unfortunate as to give rise to a belief of more than I felt, or meant to express, I shall reproach myself for not having been more guarded in my professions of that esteem. […] It is with great regret that I obey your commands of returning the letters, with which I have been honoured from you, and the lock of hair, which you so obligingly bestowed on me.

I am, dear Madam, Your most obedient humble Servant,

John Willoughby.

整篇意思大約是:「我跟你從來沒有甚麼關係,是你自作多情了。」

最要命的是信中措詞。信中用字極度謙卑有禮,卻同時冷酷得教人不寒而慄。這些字句,像寫給陌生人的公函多於像寫給舊愛的信:

had the honour of receiving your letter

beg to return my sincere acknowledgements

anything in my behaviour… that did not meet your approbation

at a loss to discover in what point I could be so unfortunate as to offend you

措詞愈有禮,愈教人心寒。

賤男更把責任都推在「自作多情」的女主角身上,這同樣以委婉的言詞道出。

if I have been so unfortunate as to give rise to a belief of more than I felt, I shall reproach myself for not having been more guarded in my professions of that esteem.

大意是:「假如我對你表現得太友善而引起誤會,我深感遺憾。」

讀到這裡,只想爆粗,同時不得不由衷佩服賤男的文筆。

蕭愷一

註:《Sense and Sensibility》中譯為《理智與感情》,作者是十九世紀初期英國作家 Jane Austen,她最為大家熟識的作品該是《Pride and Prejudice》(傲慢與偏見)。Austen 也是我很喜歡的作家。

2 Responses to “世上最絕的分手信”

  1. young

    I got this kind of replied before. yes same feeling, 只想爆粗,同時不得不由衷佩服賤男的文筆。wtf

    Reply

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS